Skip to content

Suck it Global Warming

November 3, 2008
I wrote this a while ago and felt the need to post it here. I will be following with another blog shortly…with my thoughts on Obama’s coal-fired power plant comments.
So here you go:
I did a little light reading today…well, light for me, because I’m incredibly intelligent. You’d probably get confused though…

This really is an extremely challenging, yet intriguing subject, and I’d like to share some of the things that I’ve found. I’d like to call it, “The Tricia Adams Guide to Everything Al Gore Doesn’t Want You to Know About the Real Truth About the Theory Known as Global Warming.” I thought that was catchy, don’t you think? I have such a way with words.

Ok, so here we go.

Let us start with carbon dioxide gases. This seems to be at the forefront of the argument for global warming. Humans are significantly increasing carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere, compounding the greenhouse effect, warming our planet, and basically dooming us to hell on Earth…

Well, that’s what they want you to believe anyway.

Now I’d like you to take a look at this:

(sorry for the crappy table…my true lack of technical skills has been revealed)
Carbon dioxide makes up roughly 0.0314% of the Earth’s atmosphere. I know you might be really bad at math, but assure you, that’s NOT very much of the atmosphere.
This bit of information hit me like a ton of bricks. I mean, if the atmosphere is made up of so little carbon dioxide, then why is it even such a big deal? Well…it isn’t.
Now, to confuse you a little bit, I’m going to talk about the “greenhouse effect.” It is a real effect, and carbon dioxide does play a small part. BUT, the greenhouse effect is necessary in order for our planet to be habitable. If we had NO greenhouse effect at all, our planet would have an average temperature of about 0 degrees Fahrenheit. Right now, with the greenhouse effect, the average temperature of our planet is 59 degrees Fahrenheit. I’ll let you choose which one you think is better…
Ok, so greenhouse effect isn’t bad people!
And let me get back to the carbon dioxide, because there is a lot to talk about there. The bulk of the greenhouse effect can be attributed to water vapor, 90-95% in fact. The rest comes from carbon dioxide and other minor greenhouse effect gases. So even though we’re being bombarded with statistics about carbon dioxide in our atmosphere, it only plays a small role in the greenhouse effect.
If you’re still not convinced, and you’re thinking to yourself “well carbon dioxide is a pollutant…so any increase in a pollutant is bad…”. Well I’ve got some more news for you. Carbon dioxide is actually an ESSENTIAL trace gas, one that is critical in food crop yields on this planet. Now get ready, because I’m about to knock your socks off with this one…. commercial crop growers actually deliberately increase carbon dioxide in their agricultural greenhouses in order increase productivity and improve water efficiency of food crops. And it gets better, global food crop yields rose roughly 15% from 1950 due to aerial fertilization with increased carbon dioxide. According to the source that all my data is coming from “This increase has both helped avoid a Malthusian disaster and preserved or returned enormous tracts of marginal land as wildlife habitat, land that would otherwise have had to be put under the plow in an attempt to feed the growing global population.”
I’d have to say that’s pretty significant. Increases in carbon dioxide actually help, not hurt the planet.
And if you’re still not convinced, and you’re telling yourself that it simply cannot be right that we emit these gases into our atmosphere, it has got to be bad. Well, are you aware that out of the whopping 0.0314% of carbon dioxide, humans can only claim responsibility for about 3.4% of the carbon dioxide that is released into the atmosphere? Now get this, for some unknown reason, about half of those gases don’t actually accumulate in the atmosphere. It’s an unexplained phenomenon. So I guess that would mean that we could only really be responsible about for roughly 1.7% of the total carbon dioxide in the atmosphere? And because carbon dioxide already makes up such a small part of the atmosphere, I don’t think you could count that as significant. Am I right?
I guess that’s where I end. I’d be willing to admit it if there were truly reliable evidence for global warming, but there simply isn’t. Our planet naturally fluctuates in temperature. Carbon dioxide is not the devil; in fact, an increase in the stuff is actually a good thing. And the only “evidence” that we are facing a major global catastrophe due to global warming comes from computer generated models…. which can be tweaked in such a way that they get the sort of data that they want. So why is global warming the issue that it is? Well, I’ve got my theories, but I think that’s probably a post for another day.
Ok, lets recap:
1. The greenhouse effect is necessary in order to live on our planet

2. Carbon dioxide plays a small roll in the greenhouse effect

3. Carbon dioxide is not a pollutant, but rather an essential gas
4. An increase in carbon dioxide actually helps our agricultural system

5. Human beings can only claim responsibility for a small portion of the carbon dioxide

6. The only real evidence that significant climate change is imminent comes from computer-generated models, which in all likelihood are not giving us accurate information.

Oh, and just so you know, I got all of the information from this site:
http://www.junkscience.com/Greenhouse/

I read it about 5 times…it is somewhat technical, but if you’re willing to really take the time to read what it says, it’s quite an eye opener.
~T the D
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

