Skip to content

The non-voter

November 3, 2008

I know a few people who aren’t voting, and they are pissing me off even more than the people I know who are voting for Obama.

Whatever the reason, there is never one good enough to abstain from voting.

It is quite possibly the most important right we have this country. The fact that we, as citizens, get to choose who leads this nation is an amazing gift. And for someone to just casually throw that away, doesn’t make sense.

Whether you vote or not, the outcome will affect you.

So who do you want to be? The person who votes and knows they did their part to make sure the country is run the way they want it, or the person who just doesn’t give a damn?

A non-vote does not exempt you from the political process, as so many people seem to think. You’re still a part of it. Don’t fool yourself into believing that you aren’t. You may not have voted, but you still made a choice. And it’s one of complacency. You think your life is easier because you didn’t vote? You think you shunned the system because you didn’t vote? You think you’re free from the worries of the rest of us because you didn’t vote?

None of those things are true. And I have no sympathy for any person in this country who decides to let the chips fall where they may.

It’s not a perfect process, but it’s the one we’ve got. And I don’t think voting is just a right…I think it’s just as much a duty. We owe it to ourselves, to our fellow citizens, and to future generations to ensure that our political process lives on. And that burden is shared collectively on the shoulders of ever single citizen in this country.

So for someone to say “sorry, not gonna do my duty today. good luck though” is probably one of these most selfish things you could do. You’re going to leave the tough decisions up to me and the rest of the people willing to vote, while you swim around in your pool of complacency a while longer.

Shame on you.

~T the D

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Liam permalink
    November 3, 2008 2:23 pm

    And if none of those reasons are good enough…Starbucks will give you free coffee for voting…

  2. Anonymous permalink
    November 3, 2008 8:12 pm

    I’m not voting tomorrow. Why? Because I could care less. In fact, I couldn’t give more of a shit if I tried. Regardless of who our next president is, our country is fucked. That’s right: fucked. We’ve been fucked. And we’ll be fucked again. Good day.

  3. T the D permalink
    November 3, 2008 9:31 pm

    Mr. or Ms. Anonymous is obviously a sad and cynical person. I feel bad for you…because you don’t understand that YOU have a choice, and your choice matters. The fact that you choose to do nothing speaks volumes about what kind of person you are.You complacent and apathetic…two characteristics that have never taken anyone very far. I believe this country still has the ability to bounce back from the rut it has fallen into…and will happen without the help of people like you. But if you’re ever feeling up to it, your country sure could use you.~T the D

  4. Anonymous permalink
    November 3, 2008 10:55 pm

    No, I’ve never voted. And I never plan to. It has nothing to do with what I should or shouldn’t do. It’s just not something I’m interested in. I’ve never been interested in voting. And I don’t care to become interested. Sure I feel the effects of the economy … and yes, hopefully it gets better after there’s a new president. But I just have no desire to go wait in line and vote for something I have very little concern and/or interest in.Does not voting make me a bad person? Does it make me the pit of the earth? Does it mean that I only care about myself and little about others? No, I don’t think so. In fact, I’d rather not vote in order to leave room for those who actually care about who gains the office instead of having me just randomly vote on whoever I feel like voting for. That doesn’t create very realistic polling results.I’m not complacent and apathetic … and I’ve gotten very far in my life. I think that’s a very judgmental statement. Especially because you don’t know me and the type of person I am. I could be your next door neighbor or you co-worker that sits next to you at work. Would you still say the same judgmental things about me then?I’m not saying that you can’t vote or that you shouldn’t I just don’t wish to vote. I am entitled to my opinion … and you yours. Fair enough?I think some, including you, need to really think about how you come across to others. Especially towards those who may not have an interest in the same topics. Not everyone is horny about the elections.

  5. T the D permalink
    November 3, 2008 11:40 pm

    I stand by my previous statements. You are complacent and apathetic. Just read what you wrote here…it screams of apathy. Apathy toward your country and your fellow citizens. You “hope” things will get better? How about instead of hoping, you inform yourself about your country and the political process and actually DO something about it. I don’t think that not voting makes anyone a bad person…like I said, it just makes you apathetic. You’re not “leaving room” for anyone. You’re taking complacency over actually doing something. There is plenty of room for everyone and every view…but that only matters if you act on it. You choose to do nothing. I just find that more sad than anything else. I feel bad for you because you refuse to exercise your most basic and important right in this country. And you think you’re doing yourself and others a favor in the process! Your logic is very misguided. And I would absolutely say the same thing to anyone in my life, no matter who they were. I don’t seek out people who don’t vote so I can harrass them, but if they begin the discussion, you better believe I’m gonna put my two cents in. If there is one thing I’ve learned during this current election process, it’s that you can’t just sit back and hope that the other guy says what you’re thinking. I’m going to be loud about what I think, and I’m not gonna feel sorry about it either. If I offend, it’s not intentional, it’s just me calling it how I see it. I really do urge you to consider changing your mind about voting. Maybe you can’t in this election because you’re not registered, but give it a shot in the next. Become informed about the candidates and vote for who best represents you. I promise it doesn’t hurt one little bit.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    November 4, 2008 12:03 am

    First off, I am registered. I have been. For awhile. Second off, you make it sound as if I choose to not vote because I’d rather not take action and let everyone else make the decision. I has nothing to do with that. In fact, I could care less as to who wins the election. This is why I CHOOSE not to vote. Maybe you should listen to what others say. Why do you think I will change my mind and vote just because you offend me? You can’t be offensive and expect me to actually listen to you.If I did decide to vote, it would be for Mr. Obama. Why? Just to piss someone like you off.Ever since I’ve known you, Tricia, you area always so self-absorbent. You’re not writing all this for your country, but so you can get recognition. You’re not fooling anyone. It’s always been about you … I don’t agree with either candidate, so I can’t possibly say I would want either of them in charge of the country I live in.But I can promise you something: I’m not voting. Just because I don’t want to. I don’t feel the need to. Therefore, I won’t. If that makes me complacent and apathetic, then so be it. I’d rather be content with how I feel and not vote, than be forced to do something I don’t want to do and vote.

  7. T the D permalink
    November 4, 2008 12:22 am

    You just keep confirming what I’ve been saying. You think you’re going to get to me with these comments? You won’t. I write this blog because it is a way for me to express my political views. If you don’t agree, fine. If you do, great.I don’t have some wild idea that any of what I say here REALLY matters. They’re just my thoughts, and if they spur a debate or make someone think, then great. That’s what it was intended to do. And I’m far from self-absorbed. That would mean I think myself better than anyone else, and I don’t. I don’t even think I’m better than you, even if you don’t vote. I do, however, think I’m right about these issues, and not much can make me back down from that. I’m simply confident in what I believe in, and I don’t think there is anything wrong with that. If you don’t like it, you don’t have to read it anymore. And like I’ve said before, I don’t set out to offend anyone. I really hope you find a way to understand how important you are to the political process. When only about half of the American people get out to vote during elections, that signals that there is something really wrong. I’m really wondering if you’ll care who wins this election later on…if things start to go bad. Will you be wondering if your vote could have made a difference? Will you quietly find yourself mad about the state of affairs in our country? Will you at any point during the next four years wish things were different? If so, you NEED to vote. That’s all there is to it. Apathy for our political process and toward our government doesn’t get anyone anywhere.I’ll say it again, I really just feed bad for you because you seem to have no clue about the importance of this issue. You’re trying to exempt yourself from the process, believing that by doing so you have no resposibility for the outcome. But you’re wrong. Non-voters are just as much a part of the process as the people who make the choice and vote on election day.You’ve just chosen to be a part of the apathy that keeps half the country at home, not voting. You and your vote matter. THAT is why I want you to vote. ~T the D

  8. Anonymous permalink
    November 4, 2008 7:25 pm

    How about you try carrying your same “horniness” for politics towards religion? Have you ever thought that maybe God needs your support to? That maybe your decision to vote for God is more important than voting for McCain? Just a though.-A different anonymous poster.

  9. T the D permalink
    November 4, 2008 7:58 pm

    What…the…hell?First off, I’m not “horny” for politics. I find it interesting, and I love the debate. What is wrong with that? And we don’t vote for God, because he does not require our support. God will carry out His plan regardless of how many supporters he has walking around here on earth. I honestly don’t know how you jumped from politics to religion. If I wanted to debate religion and try to make people understand my views on God…then I would talk about it. I happen to believe that the fight about religion is one that no one can win. I’m not entering a losing battle.Politics is simply a whole other animal. And if you want to call me “horny” for politics, so be it. I know what I am…just a girl who likes to muse (and rant) about the political atmosphere.I won’t apologize for it. ~T the D

Leave a Reply

