Skip to content

If your president gives you reason, you don’t have to stand by him

November 10, 2008

This quote gives legs to the thoughts that I couldn’t accurately convey:

Patriotism means to stand by the country. It does not mean to stand by the president or any other public official, save exactly to the degree in which he himself stands by the country. It is patriotic to support him insofar as he efficiently serves the country. It is unpatriotic not to oppose him to the exact extent that by inefficiently or otherwise he fails in his duty to stand by the country. In either event, it is unpatriotic not to tell the truth, whether about the president or anyone else.

Theodore Roosevelt

Much has been made recently of the content of my blogs, but I continue to maintain that I am just telling the truth as I know it. And I don’t limit myself to commentary, or rants, or humor, or seriousness, or even just to politics.

This is a place for me to voice who I am in general. A conservative isn’t JUST about politics. The Drunk Elephant doesn’t only have things to say about Barack Obama or republicans or democrats. And…lets be fair…I named this blog The Drunk Elephant for a reason…because I knew some of the things I would write would appear to come straight out of the mouth of someone who doesn’t have all their faculties about them. That’s just who I am…right or wrong…like it or not.

I’m weird, I will admit it. Sometimes I wonder to myself…who AM I? And I just laugh, because it’s interesting living in my head. Very often inappropriate humor gets the best of me. I don’t think it’s a crime against humanity.

I won’t apologize for it. And I certainly won’t apologize for not staying quiet about my disapproval of Barack Hussein Obama.

Until he gives me reason not to, I will continue to disapprove of him. Just as I will continue to be weird and inappropriate or whatever other adjective I am.

And I really feel bad for anyone who can’t understand the feeling of that sort of freedom of self. I just am who I am…and it feels fantastic.

~T the D

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 11, 2008 2:56 am

    I thought I was the only Black Man in the US that thought Mr Obama was playin us all….. thanks for showing me im not alone.

  2. Christopher Wiseman permalink
    November 11, 2008 1:24 pm

    Maybe its time to bring back the Bull Moose party! Great quote!

Leave a Reply

