Skip to content

Soda…Pop…or just a Coke?

November 17, 2008

Isn’t that the eternal question we all must ask ourselves?

I have lived in different regions of the country, each one with differing opinions on exactly what to call that bubbly beverage.

It does sort of bother me when people call ANYTHING a Coke. If it’s a Pepsi…ok…maybe I can let it slide. But if it’s an ever loving Sprite…don’t call it a friggin Coke!

Here in Indiana, the most common term to use is “pop.” I USED to call it pop, until one day I decided I didn’t care to call it a “pop” anymore and switched to “soda.” I’ve probably been calling it “soda” for well over 5 or 6 years now…and yesterday I was digging around in my parents’ fridge (you know you do it too) and said “don’t you guys have any POP?!”

I immediately caught myself, and gasped in horror at my mistake. It was worse than the feeling I had when I said “fuck” for the first time after having sworn off cursing (thank you Christianity) for a few years.

I have no idea where I’m going with the entire crap blog.

Oh yeah, go here: www.sodahead.com

It’s pretty fun…if you’ve got the mentality of a 12 year old like I do.

I’m goin’ to mix some rum into my SODA now.

~T the D

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

