Skip to content

Someone who gets it…AND he’s gay!

November 18, 2008

Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock, you know about Proposition 8.

I’m already tired of the video of Drew Barrymore getting choked up over it. Doesn’t she have anything better to do (hehe…says the girl who spends the better part of her evenings cutting out strips of construction paper….).

Anyway, I am finding it refreshing whenever I hear someone famous speaks some words of clarity about the whole issue.

Take Elton John for example:

“What is wrong with Proposition 8 is that they went for marriage. Marriage is going to put a lot of people off, the word marriage…I don’t want to be married. I’m very happy with a civil partnership. If gay people want to get married, or get together, they should have a civil partnership…The word ‘marriage,’ I think, puts a lot of people off…You get the same equal rights that we do when we have a civil partnership. Heterosexual people get married. We can have civil partnerships.”

I always knew I loved me some Elton John, but this just makes it even better. He GETS it. He understands that gay people either already have, or are getting the exact same rights in a civil partnership. What they are going after now is a label. ALL of this trouble over a LABEL.

You can still say you’re married if you want. No one is going to stone you if you call your partner husband or wife…for God’s sake, just get over it already.

Not having the same label attached to your union is NOT an infringement upon your civil rights.

Oh, and I want the rainbow back. I’m taking the rainbow back!

~T the D

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

