Skip to content

About my back…

December 4, 2008

Well, while I’m up from the couch and away from my heating pad let me tell you about my little problem.

Yesterday I bent over to pick up my purse (or sometimes referred to as “the luggage bag”) and was greeted with a rather unpleasant surprise on my way back up…I felt something pull…then something get tight…and then I actually yelped. Yes…it really was a yelp.

I knew I’d done something bad…but I thought if I just got some advil and rested on the heating pad I’d be A-OK by morning…boy was I WRONG!

Listen…this might be a little graphic…but I actually couldn’t wipe myself this morning. It was already hard enough getting out of the bed and to the toilet…but it was just completely demoralizing to realize I didn’t have the range of mobility to get a piece of toilet paper down there. That MIGHT have been when I burst into tears…but I’m not officially admitting to that. But don’t you worry…I’m not the kind of girl who is going to go around un-wiped. I bit a hole in my lower lip and forced the issue until I got the desire result. I might never physically be the same…but at least I don’t ever have to say that I went without wiping. I mean…it was either that or scooting around on the area rug like a dog…and I’m pretty sure I wasn’t going there.

So after that incident I decided it would probably be a good idea to call up my doc and make an appointment. God forbid I ever have another wiping incident in my lifetime. I got in there and he made me get on this table and he made my legs move in ways I don’t ever want them to move again. I asked him if I at least get dinner afterward, and he said no, but he did have a prescription for muscle relaxers with my name all over…and I said “SOLD!” Then the nurse came in to give me an ultrasound…which I had no idea could be used as a treatment for anything. She made it sound scary…telling me to let her know when it becomes uncomfortable. Not IF…WHEN. Well not surprisingly, I thought it actually felt good…leave it to me to like something that’s supposed to be uncomfortable. I kind of want to go back for another one. They even warmed the gel up for me. They’re quite courteous.

That’s really it. I’m still in pain, and I don’t know why I’m up off the couch. I just can’t stay away from the computer. I’m a frigging addict.

~T the D

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

