Skip to content

Hot Cockles!

December 4, 2008

Ok, every year at this time I start looking up fun Christmas facts.

This is definitely my most favorite time of year….I just love it. I love the songs and the decorations and the gift buying and all the rest of it.

I’ve already got the MEANING behind Christmas under control…but there is so much rich history involved in this holiday. So I’m going to share some of what I find with you!

Today it’s Hot Cockles!

What is it you might be wondering? Well, it happens to be a game that was played during Victorian Christmas parties. And here’s where it gets fun….the instructions:

One player sits down, while another players kneels in front of them, placing is or her head in their lap. The person kneeling puts one hand on their back, palm up. Other party goers then come around and give the person a whack on the hand…and he or she must guess who struck the blow.

Fantastic, right?! Perhaps a little bit scandalous too…yeah? The game even dates back to the 14th century.

I love it. So much better than charades.

I even found some artwork of a game of Hot Cockles:

If any of you enjoy a game of Hot Cockles this holiday season…please let me know!

~T the D

One Comment leave one →
  1. RightKlik permalink
    December 4, 2008 11:58 pm

    Wow…didn’t know those Victorians had it in them.

Leave a Reply

