Skip to content

Petty Officer Michael Anthony Mansoor

December 4, 2008

So I just read about this man…Michael Mansoor. He gave his life to protect two of his fellow naval officers back in 2006.

The video is a tribute to him.

I know it happened 2 years ago…but where was all the coverage? I don’t remember ever hearing about this hero. Maybe I just wasn’t paying enough attention…but I don’t think that’s it. I NEVER hear about the bravery of our military anymore.

There was a segment on 60 Minutes where they interviewed a female officer who was awarded the silver star I believe…and they made it more about how the military skirts around the limitation of women not being allowed in front line combat. I can’t quote her word for word, but the young woman who won the medal basically told her interviewer that there is NO front line. No matter what you’re out there doing, the enemy could strike. So good for her for not giving into the bias of such questions. They simply couldn’t let it be about a brave young soldier…that just wouldn’t be right.

I didn’t think I could get more tired of the main stream media…boy was I wrong.

~T the D

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

