Skip to content

What’s next? No postal service at all?

February 5, 2009

The United States Postal Service has proposed cutting down from 6 delivery days per week to just 5.

I can’t help but be mildly irritated by this fact.

Although people are sending less mail now than ever before, it is still our most consistent and reliable form of postal service.

I suppose the world isn’t going to implode if they stop delivery on a Tuesday or a Saturday…but I’m not sure it will really have the desired result they’re after.

Lets say I have something important to mail…and I need to make sure it gets there in two days…but it’s Thursday. I can either pay MORE money to have it delivered overnight…OR I can take my cute little self over to UPS or FedEx and get it there right when I want it.

So what do you think my decision will be? And I don’t think I’ll be the only one making that decision.

It seems to me they’ll be driving more customers away. Obviously that is not what the USPS wants.

I’m no expert, but if I were them I think I’d choose to modernize so I could effectively compete in the market. How about advertising? UPS and FedEx does it…and quite effectively.

I don’t think we’ll ever return to the level of letters being sent…but until we learn how beam crap through space to its next destination, we’re going to have to take our packages SOMEWHERE to be shipped. The USPS can be that place…but they’ve got to change.

~T the D

2 Comments leave one →
  1. El Sid permalink
    February 6, 2009 1:06 am

    The real problem USPS has is higher wages, forced retirement that pay more than the national standard, full-coverage health care for part time employees, horrible customer service, losing alot of their “product,” and delivery of packages that can take up to 3 weeks(experienced that one myself, with a standard sized letter).

  2. The Ripley Porch permalink
    February 9, 2009 2:49 pm

    I think I’d chill out. If they cut out a day…so you get the mail on Monday, or Tuesday or whatever. When you talk to these old guys, from the 1930s…a letter from one side of a state to the other side….might have taken a week. Folks were fairly satisfied with that. Its not like we have life and death situations over fast mail….if we did….we’d all be dead, naturally.Face it, by 2025, a letter will be $1 and you won’t mail more than twelve letters a year. None of your magazines will come via mail. And “Joe the mailman” will be a contracted dude from India who is in the US on a 2-year work visa (hereby referred to as Haj-the-mailman). You might even get used to Haj and make him some blueberry muffins for being almost as good as Joe-the-mailman.

Leave a Reply

