Skip to content

I didn’t know colors had culture

April 11, 2009

When’s the last time you heard someone talking about “white culture”? You don’t…because it’s ridiculous. The color of your skin isn’t a sufficient basis on which to build an entire culture. But I guess it is sufficient to MAKE ONE UP.

Now…Italian culture? Ok. German culture? Wonderful! African culture? I can dig it. Those are labels you can work with, because they can be defined.

So why do so many black people insist on trying to convince the rest of the world that they have a culture based solely on their skin color? It’s crazy I tell you.

Unless their ‘culture’ includes the insatiable need to convince the rest of the world that they aren’t inferior, I don’t think they have a leg to stand on.

I’d be happy to amend my opinion if someone could simply provide me one credible example of ‘black culture’ in this country. And no, hiphop doesn’t count.

~T the D

(I can’t wait for someone to call me a racist again…or to use the word ‘bigot’ inappropriately. Highlight of my day!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 12, 2009 9:37 am

    Negro Spiritual, Jazz, Rhythm & Blues. All born as a way to "escape" first slavery then segregation.And BTW, the main tenet of segregation was that there were two cultures, the white culture and the colored culture.

  2. T the D permalink
    April 12, 2009 9:59 am

    I might be able to give you that – there are some things that ARE deeply rooted in black heritage in this country. But is it a ‘culture’? I don’t think so – I have yet to see any significant group of people uphold those things like people who respect a culture do. Instead, things like that have been bastardized, and we’re all supposed to accept it as a culture. Well I don’t buy it. ~T the D

Leave a Reply

