Skip to content

So tell me Elkhart, how did it feel to get teabagged?

April 15, 2009

I’d say that the Elkhart Tea Party was a huge success. For this area, to get 400 people to come out is big.

Here’s a sample of the pics I took:

Sooo…I couldn’t resist…and I took Dewey! Here he is eagerly waiting for the car to get parked so he could get his Tea Party on! He even dressed for the occasion…and I must say, he was a HIT. Then again…look at him…how could he NOT be a hit?

Anyway – it was a great experience. I got to speak to a lot of amazing/kind/funny/wonderful people. And none of them were shy about getting their picture taken…which was good because I wasn’t shy about asking!

At one point I looked around and thought to myself ‘This is our future right here.’ And I truly believe that is. It was the kind of people like the ones who came out today who have said ‘this is enough’ that are going to make a change…one that actually HELPS this country.

It’s unfortunate the road our country had to start down for people to finally get it (myself included) – but at least we’re going to pull together to put a stop to it.

Like I said before – this was only a beginning. Just wait.

~T the D

10 Comments leave one →
  1. The Pajama Underground permalink
    April 16, 2009 4:53 pm

    Great pics. The Tea Parties were a success, but we need to keep moving- they were only a begining!!

  2. Conservative Scalawag permalink
    April 16, 2009 9:18 pm

    Great pics of your Tea Party there. As Pajama said, we gotta keep up the pressure.

  3. Westbrook Central Media, Inc. permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:54 am

    Good job, future photojournalist! We may have a writing offer for you very soon!

  4. T the D permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:00 am

    It better be a paying gig! 😛

    ~T the D

  5. Anonymous permalink
    April 20, 2009 4:47 am

    Did you know that the earned income tax credit (“EITC”) that was enacted by Gerald Ford and was then re-enacted and expanded in 1986 by… Ronald Reagan.

    Does that make him a Communist?

  6. T the D permalink
    April 20, 2009 8:13 am

    Anon – it might server you better if you weren’t deliberately inflammatory…and if you provided references. If you can’t backup your comments, your words are useless.

    ~T the D

  7. Donna permalink
    April 21, 2009 1:57 pm

    I think Anonymous should have posted these links: http://www.eitc-carolinas.org/policy-and-press/
    or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Earned_Income_Tax_Credit

    It's not very difficult to use google.

    I'm not too happy with all the bailouts (and I'm generally a Democrat), but I'm more peeved with the crap that played out over the last 8 years. I'm taking a wait & see approach before I start bashing the new administration.

  8. T the D permalink
    April 21, 2009 2:05 pm

    Donna, how much more "wait & see" can you do?

    Are you going to "wait & see" as Obama runs our country into the ground?

    It's hard to defend the financial policies of the Bush administration – I disagreed with a lot of what he did – but that doesn't give Obama free license to completely bankrupt us for generations to come.

    It's time to stop placing blame on Bush and take a cold hard look at our CURRENT president and what's he doing RIGHT NOW to our country. Because it's huge and it's dangerous.

    ~T the D

  9. Donna permalink
    April 22, 2009 9:24 am

    T & D: First I have to say that I don't agree with a lot you have to say, but I enjoy your writing style & respect your opinion.

    The President has been in office for all of 3 months. Are you telling me that previous congress & Bush didn't help run the country into the ground? Remember, the financial meltdown started way before January 20. A LOT of people contributed to that from BOTH PARTIES. I really have a hard time understanding why so many people expect such instant gratification. We have become a nation of "want it now" folks.

    I didn't vote for George Bush. But when he came into office, I figured "Hey, give the guy a chance". The same people that voted for him are the same people that gave him a mere 34% approval rating when he left office. But I'm willing to bet they, like me, gave the guy a little time to try to run the country before all the protests. I'm not trying to start any anti-Bush or pro-Obama rant. My initial post was to provide links to what Anonymous was talking about. You seemed to not know/believe that what he was saying was true. I see this in a lot of blogs lately – people want to espouse their diehard beliefs (which is fine, go for it, freedom of speech rocks), but then get defensive if anyone points out FACTS that go against the posters version of the truth.

    Not everyone is blaming Bush- I don't. He had an entire congress of knuckleheads from both sides of the fence to help him screw a lot of things up. But it is funny how people who support(ed) Bush now instantly want to blame Obama for some <>policies that were begun before the guy took office.<><> Did you know that Bush began a similar bailout plan before he left office?<> < HREF="http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/09/24/bush.bailout/index.html" REL="nofollow"> href=”http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/09/24/bush.bailout/index.html” <> or, if you prefer a European slant on things:
    < HREF="http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/7643199.stm" REL="nofollow">http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/7643199.stm <> A lot of people seem to have forgotten about that. This is not news. But since the bill did not pass until Obama took office, suddenly it's his fault, blah blah, he's running the country into the ground, etc etc. Wasn't even his idea, he just repackaged it and sent it to congress, who approved it.

    I'm fiscally conservative, socially liberal. I absolutely don't like bailing out folks that lost money because of their own greed. I don't like the fact that I pay my mortgage & bills on time, but my fiancées sister, who constantly over extends and lives beyond her means, is probably going to get help paying her mortgage. But those policies were in the works before the election. I really wish there were more viable 3rd and 4th party candidates. But what I wish the most is that people who want to bash an administration (any administration past, present, future) get facts straight before going off about how "evil" the new President is. I thought about going to one of the tea parties, but I don't want my name or face associated with a lot of the type of folks that have been showing up to them. Even the GOP is worried of the type of followers this movement is producing. < HREF="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/04/17/tea-party-fallout-indepen_n_188235.html" REL="nofollow">http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/04/17/tea-party-fallout-indepen_n_188235.html<>Summary: take action but be informed. Take time to smell the roses, but also take a good whiff of reality.

    <>We’d all like to vote for the best man, but he’s never a candidate. <> ~Frank McKinney “Kin” Hubbard

    <>All of us who are concerned for peace and triumph of reason and justice must be keenly aware how small an influence reason and honest good will exert upon events in the political field.<> ~Albert Einstein

    <>Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule – and both commonly succeed, and are right.<> ~H.L. Mencken, 1956

    I didn't see any tea parties when the previous administration announced the bailout, so, yeah, I'll wait & see before I start wearing sandwich boards walking the sidewalk protesting this or that. Give me 'til the end of the summer. By then I might be standing on the curb with you.

    Sorry for the long post, but it had to be said.

    Peace to you & yours.

    Donna

  10. T the D permalink
    April 22, 2009 5:39 pm

    Donna, I sincerely thank you for the compliment! Writing this blog gives me a lot of joy – and it’s just really nice to know that even when someone doesn’t agree, they can still ‘enjoy’ it!

    It’s a nice change from the people who only show up to spit vitriol around.

    I can see that we will most likely not agree on this particular issue…but that’s ok! I can learn to deal with it!

    ~T the D

Leave a Reply

