Skip to content

Tales of an abortion

April 27, 2009

Today I read the account of a woman who had an abortion at Dr. Tiller’s clinic in Kansas. I was horrified and incredibly saddened to say the least.

In almost every instance I am anti-abortion – but I understand why women decide to do it – I will never judge someone for having it done. I’d venture a guess that many of the women who decide to have it done think it’s an easy out. But clearly, after you read what some women have to say post-abortion, it is anything but.

The woman’s story I read today broke my heart. She learned that her baby had a defect that would most likely lead to her death shortly after birth. Not believing she could handle that trauma, the woman decided to travel to Dr. Tiller’s clinic in Kansas, where he will abort any baby, no matter how far along in the gestation period he or she is.

Her account was horrific – but the worst part came when I read this:

I wish now I would of had the courage to deliver my little girl and let her get even just one breath of air before she passed… to let her see my face just once before she passed. I will never have that chance now and I will always have to live with the decision I made and the nightmares of what happened to me in Kansas.

I’ve never met this woman, but my heart just breaks for her. And then it breaks even more knowing that the sadness I feel for her is most likely only a fraction of what she’s feeling herself.

Like with most things, I know this isn’t a black and white issue. But when it comes down to it, what kind of a society condones an entire medical practice based around one procedure that leaves babies unborn and would-be moms to deal with the after-effects of a decisions they felt was so right in the beginning?

~T the D

One Comment leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    April 27, 2009 3:04 pm

    Let me just say – wow. I'm stuck between pro-choice and a hard place. I don't think the govt. should be able to make that decision. It should be a personal one. However, I don't think I could ever choose abortion unless there were extreme circumstances. If I were told that myself & my child were to die at birth, then there is a very remote chance I would abort. Very remote. If it were just my life – I would give my life up for my child. That is true of the 2 kids I currently have.

    But I am ashamed to say I had never heard of Dr. Tiller until your post. That place needs to be shut down now. Appalling, and sad. Thanks for pointing out the article. My heart goes out to those women.

Leave a Reply

