Skip to content

Can YOU afford higher taxes?

July 15, 2009

I personally cannot afford to give my government one more cent. Without going into detail about my personal finances, I’m barely making it at this point. I know there are people who have it significantly worse than I do, and believe me, I’m thankful that I am at least able to keep my head above water. But my savings are running out, and every month in the days leading up to the 1st and the 15th, it’s a race to see what will happen first, a zero balance or my pay check.

I don’t want to live this way, and I don’t intend to forever. Despite the efforts I’m putting forth today to have a different future, this is my reality for now.

Having said all of that, let me tell you what I learned this morning. The county I live in, St. Joseph, just passed a measure to raise our income taxes. They claim that they cannot continue to pay salaries and provide us with services unless they raise our taxes. First, I don’t believe it. If you look at it from a business perspective, when you don’t have enough incoming cash to cover your overhead, there are things you can do to reduce your costs. Infusing your business with cash from investors is an option, but unless you have a plan to increase your business revenue, this option won’t work, because eventually you’ll be back to square one. Instead, you cut expenses. You may even have to let some employees go, as it is the most effective way to reduce your monthly costs. Does it suck? Well sure, but it’s either that or go out of business, and then NO one has a job.

Our government, however, refuses to work this way. When they can’t pay for all of their employees and services and special programs, they just take the money from The People. We don’t get a choice. They just reach in our pockets and take what they want. We’ve given them that power, and they have been using it to abuse us for decades.

I’m not sure at this very moment how much money these tax increases will effectively steal from me each month, but I know that I can’t afford it. Even if it’s $25, I don’t have it. That’s dog and cat food for a month. That’s groceries for a week (or two if I need to stretch it). That’s almost a tank of gas. That’s a summer gas bill. That’s a trip to the doctor if I get sick.

And what about the things I scrape up money to pay for because I enjoy them and they make my life happier? Should I give them up so I can help fund an obviously inept and ineffective government? My answer is no, I should not. I’m tired of the government setting the standard for how I should live. Now, if I want to exceed that, I have to work even harder. They are constantly and gradually making it more difficult for people to achieve that ‘American Dream.’

I’m not giving up, of course. Not on what I want for my life or the government of my state or the country. It’s just sad and unfortunate that we continue to elect individuals who are so blatantly out of touch with how their actions affect us.

I cannot wait for the next election.

~T the D

One Comment leave one →
  1. The Employed Unemployed permalink
    July 19, 2009 12:57 am

    I honestly don't know how I am going to pay my income taxes next April seing as how there are no signs of new jobs coming to Florida.

    It's bad enough that all the stimulus money is being used to repave NEW roads my tax money paved just a year or two ago! What the Hell?

Leave a Reply

