Skip to content

The tax man comes knocking, again

October 19, 2009

I got paid last week, just less than I was expecting.  Ten dollars less in fact.  It might seem like a trivial amount, but not when you’re already stretched thin financially.

I found out that they raised taxes in my county and that they want to try and do it again.

Instead of curbing spending like they should, they’re taking $20 of my money away each month to do what they see fit with it.

Do you know what I could have used that $20 for?  I could have bought food for my pets for a month.  I could have topped the gas tank off in my car.  I could have stocked up on groceries for the week.  I could have got my oil changed.  I could have paid my gas bill.  I could have used it for my copay at the doctor’s office.  I could have put it in my savings account.  I could have decided that someone needed it more than me, and given it away of my own volition.

But no, it’s just gone.  $20 a month that I honestly can’t afford to lose is just gone.

Does anyone honestly feel like any branch of the government is working FOR them anymore?  It doesn’t feel much like it to me.

I overheard someone talking about the tax increase today.  He said “Oh well, it’s not like there’s anything we can do about it.”

Oh, but yes there is.  These politicians need your votes.  They need your money.  They need your support.  Don’t give it to them.  If we’re willing, the power still lies with the people.  Never forget that.

~Trish

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    October 19, 2009 6:20 pm

    Great article Trish!!! You hit the nail on the head..I prefer to give my money to my favorite charity….not theirs….

  2. October 23, 2009 7:36 pm

    I just got a notice that our new dog (well, new to us) is a tax liability. Believe it or not, rescuing a dog from the pound comes with a $50/yr tax. Not sure what it covers, but there’s a new pair of shoes for my daughter or what-have-you.. it’s all going to the dogs.

    • October 23, 2009 8:04 pm

      Rich, I’ve NEVER heard of such a thing. I am not surprised though. Pretty soon we’ll be taxed by for the amount of breaths we take in a day.

      That might be an exaggeration, but that certainly is the way it feels, isn’t it?

      ~Trish

  3. October 25, 2009 11:53 am

    Well said! I’ve been an advocate of voting all incumbants out and starting over. This crap has gotten out of hand.

Leave a Reply

