Skip to content

My late-night health care rant

November 8, 2009

I heard someone say today, with regard to abortion rights, the government needs to stay out of our lives.

In almost the same breath, she was singing the praises of government-run healthcare.

Is it not an egregious intrusion into our lives on the part of the government when they require that we carry health insurance?  Or that businesses have to provide it?  Or what and who insurance companies have to cover?

It’s something that we’re facing, right now.  As American citizens who enjoy living in the most free country in the world, are we prepared to allow the government that much control in our lives?  Are we prepared to pay fines to the government when we don’t live our lives the way they believe is right?  It’s speculative, but if they can force fines on us for not carrying health insurance, what is next?

What kind of freedom is that?

This person I was listening to also went on about the ‘greater good’ and humanitarianism.  Apparently she believed this is what the passage of health care reform means.

Taking my money to pay for someone else’s health care is not humanitarianism, it’s theft.  Liberals too often think that they can mandate and enforce altruism.  And it makes me laugh.  One of those dry, sad, “My God, how can anyone think that way” sort of laughs.

Don’t get me wrong, to give back to a community or someone in need is a special thing.  I do it when I’m able.  And that’s the way it should be.  You decide where you want your time, efforts and money to go.  The government shouldn’t get to step in and say “Ok, Country, this is a worthy cause and we’re all pitching in, whether you want to or not.”  That’s not freedom.  It’s just wrong.

And my hunch is it creates more apathy than anything else.  It creates a culture of people who believe they don’t have to care, because the government does that for them along with everything else.  Why give of yourself when the government is already taking your money and giving it back where it sees fit?  I mean, do you see the problem there?

I do, and I don’t want to live that way.  I will never live that way.  I don’t want the government telling me what’s a worthy cause.  I don’t want their pathetic attempts at forced altruism.

And that’s why I’m against this current health care reform.  It’s not because I don’t care, it’s because I value freedom too much.  It’s because this is no place for the government to be.

~Trish

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. cwriteandtheride permalink
    November 8, 2009 10:59 pm

    My sentiments exactly. Complete government intervention was the least creative approach to “reform” and the most detrimental to the country’s long term interests.

  2. oleheifer permalink
    November 8, 2009 11:09 pm

    Amen, Sistah!

    (That reminds me 2 post my po-em on twitter. THX 4 da rant.)

  3. November 9, 2009 2:08 am

    I personally question how anybody was able to look at the mess that our health care system is and say “What this needs is MORE government control and interaction.” with anything remotely close to a straight face.

    I’m not even going to go into the whole loss of freedoms, which I believe you covered superbly.

  4. Murray Abraham permalink
    November 9, 2009 4:47 am

    Let’s make a deal.
    All those who decide to go uninsured make a pledge to go die quietly under a bridge if they get seriously ill and hence bankrupt, and we the insured won’t have to pick up the ER bills.
    We already have socialized medicine in this country, and we do it in the stupidest way: subsidizing ERs.
    Your freedom of being irresponsible ends where my freedom of not subsidizing you begins.
    I would rather subsidize the insurance of those who can’t afford it (in the same way I don’t have a problem subsidizing food stamps) so they go see a doctor before it’s to late. In the end it will be cheaper for everybody.

    • November 9, 2009 10:07 am

      Insuring everyone does not bring costs down. Costs go up. They tried it in Massachusetts and it failed. It ended up costing the taxpayers more than if they simply subsidized catastrophic care. And interestingly, ER visits didn’t even go down when they put a government-subsidized plan in place.

      Not only that, but there are studies that suggest strongly that preventive care does little to affect the outcome of an illness. Meaning, if you get sick, whether you were diagnosed because you went to the ER or because you found it during a preventive checkup, the outcome will likely be the same either way.

      Now, if we want to talk about the cost of health care in this country, we can start with tort reform. Then we can move on to the already draconian regulations our government places on insurance companies that drive costs up. If we could tackle those issues then we’d be in a much better situation.

      ~T

  5. CheesyPants permalink
    November 9, 2009 10:21 pm

    Government-run healthcare has been shown to work in other countries. It worked by trial and error. I’m paying taxes and I would like to see my taxes work for something and if it includes going towards quality healthcare for all I’m fine with that. There are many Americans who are trying to get their lives together and they are suffering. As an American, I believe in helping my fellow Americans. No, I don’t want the slackers to ride off my back but there going to be there anyway because we do have lazy Americans. We won’t need Medicare anymore if the government insurance covers everyone.

    BTW, does this insurance cover abortions? I need to make a run to my local chop shop.

    • November 9, 2009 11:16 pm

      1. What countries have successful government-run health care? And please explain why they are successful

      2. Do you really want the government playing ‘trial-and-error’ with your tax dollars?

      3. If you want to help other people, why do you need the government to do it for you?

      You need to answer those questions for yourself and become a better informed individual.

      ~T

Leave a Reply

