Skip to content

Mammograms, and abortions, and NOW (oh my)

November 23, 2009

Someone mentioned that the National Organization for Women (NOW) was surprisingly mum on the news that the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) released a report with new guidelines for breast cancer screenings.  So, I decided to go to the source and see for myself.  In fact, they had written something about it on their blog.

There was no outrage.  There was no standing up for women’s rights.  There were no strong words denouncing guidelines that will undoubtedly affect women’s lives.

I wasn’t expecting much more anyway, but it would have been nice to be pleasantly surprised.  And then I scrolled down to find not one, but 3 blog posts slamming the Stupak Amendment.

Now, I won’t get into my views on abortion.  I have them and I’m glad to discuss them.  They might not even be exactly what you think they are.  But I don’t want to get into it now, because regardless of my views on abortion, that’s not the issue here.  It’s the fact that NOW can so vehemently oppose an amendment they believe takes away a woman’s right to an abortion, but treat another issue, one that might actually kill women, with such utter complacency.

What kind of priorities are these?  Well, ones that I clearly don’t understand.  I obviously won’t be winning any feminist of the year awards in the near future.

~Trish

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 12:07 am

    I made a comment about this the other day, what the hell ever happened to the “Our bodies, our choice!!” rally cry?! Apparently that is only relevant when we’re discussing abortion. *shrug* I mean really. If you’re a woman and you’re not pissed off about this crap (the mammogram/pap smear guidelines/the existence of NOW), maybe we need to revoke your women’s club membership.

Leave a Reply

